• Checkout
  • Cart 0
Home>Dining & Entertaining>Dinnerware>Dinnerware Collections>18th Street 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
 
Recommended For You
Studio Dark Clay Small Mug
Set of 4 Studio Light Clay Dinner Plates
Mini Rustic Bowl
Sol 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
Ito 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date that you print this page.
6/30/2015 9:01:57 AM. For Customer Service, please call 800.967.6696

18th Street 16-Piece Dinnerware Set

18th Street 16-Piece Dinnerware Set
  • 18thSt16pcDnrwrSetS12
  • 18thStreet16PieceDnrwrFI12
  • 18thSt4pcPlcsetS12
  • 18thStDnrwrStackS12
  • Terravida87DiningTblFI12
  • ChemexCoffeeMkrSI13
Crate and Barrel Exclusive

SKU: 605169

Set Savings $154.95open stock $171.20

Delivery In stock and ready to ship

The Story

Modern and restrained in form, expressive and rustic in glaze. The artisan's hand is authentically reproduced in this stoneware pattern designed exclusively for Crate and Barrel by ceramic artist and designer Kathy Erteman at her 18th Street studio in New York City. A contemporary matte black exterior contrasts the rustic beauty of a shiny, speckled white glazed interior ringed with the subtly raised spiral associated with hand-thrown pieces. A raised clay rim features a sandy glaze that evokes the feel of exposed terra cotta. To capture the artisan look of this dinnerware, Erteman modeled prototypes to true scale by hand with her original glazes as reference for production. In the words of the designer, "When making tableware, I consider design and the rigors of daily use. The spirit of my hand in these pieces is modest, to harmonize with and act as a support to the prepared ingredients."

Part of the 18th Street Dinnerware Collection

Details and Dimensions

Return/Exchange Policy

Customers Also Viewed

 

Our reviews are verified for authenticity. Learn more.
18th Street 16-Piece Dinnerware Set is rated 3.8372 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Dinnerware! Beautiful design and very durable! Have bumped it against my granite countertop and it didn't even chip! Absolutely love it.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18th Street Dinnerware We registered for this set for our wedding. It is the only china we opted to get since neither of us wanted an expensive set of fancy china that never gets used. So far we love the set. Only complaint is the bowls, they don't work very well for cereal or soup since they are large but shallow. Overall we have been very happy with these dishes!
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful! We got these dishes as a wedding gift! We love them. They are beautiful. We did have 1 crack in the microwave and they are supposed to be microwave safe so I'm hoping we don't have additional issues but they are definitely beautiful dishes.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We love our 18th Street dinnerware set! I bought our 18th Street dinnerware almost a year ago. We love the style; even though it's casual, we will likely love its classic design for a very long time. There have been a couple little chips on the edge of two dinner plates (probably from unfortunate dishwasher placement?), otherwise, these dishes have been completely durable. I haven't seen any scuffing, as mentioned in other reviews.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look! Matches my rustic lodge-type kitchen. I love this set..especially the unique shape of the bowls.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good experience I have used these dishes for 1 year and have been overall satisfied with my purchase. That being said, there are still some flaws.Pros- Very beautiful! I have not had a problem with the black parts getting scratched and I don't find the plates to chip as easily as some of the other reviewers. I have 2 chipped plates but one was definitely my fault -when I dropped it! I also don't understand the cereal dilemma several others mentioned- the bowls function as bowls- just fine for me!Cons- I would not recommend these plates as microwave safe. I have had one slightly crack after microwaving briefly. Something else that could be bothersome is the dishes are not of consistent quality. Some of the black finish is glossy, while others have a matte finish. At time of purchase I returned a flawed plate but cannot remember why and I had another plate come with a glaze flaw (stained) but I was too lazy to return it.These beautiful dishes work perfectly for me and I have been happy with them! They are mass produced, however, and require some extra quality inspection when purchasing!
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but do not last We received these dishes as a gift from our registry about two years ago. I loved them in the store, but unfortunately they do not last. With normal use, most of the pieces have chipped or been scuffed. It's disappointing because this dinnerware set was of the biggest items on our registry.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant yet earthy We got these dishes for our wedding and have had them for more than a year now. We received one broken and another warped but Crate and Barrel customer service sent two replacements super quick and easy. We treat our dishes carefully (rarely go in the dishwasher or microwave) and have had no subsequent chips or cracks like others have commented on. We like the weight (they are a bit cumbersome) and texture of these dishes. They have quite a variety of speckling in the top (off white) glaze, which is nice. The mugs are nice and big, but the lip of the mug is a little bit thick for my taste. It leaves a little drip after you have had a sip! Also, the salad bowl is great, such a good shape for salads and curries! These are very unique dishes, we love their handmade look and beautiful glazes, but I can see why they would not be for everyone!
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Plates Chip Easily I've had this entire set for a little less than 2 years, receiving them as part of our wedding registry. Unfortunately, like so many others have reported, they chip very easily. The large plates, especially, have tiny chips along the edge that stand out since the plates are very dark on that side. It looks terrible utilizing these for dinner guests. The mugs are fine, as are the bowls, but the plates are falling apart.Also note that I was these CAREFULLY by HAND! I don't have a dish washer and its just a 2 person household. Considering how careful we are with this set, they're still chipping, which is a sign of poor quality. My other sets are perfect from years of use. I would go with something else if I were you.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Break SO easily! I was given 18th St. dinnerware for our wedding last year, on December 22, 2013. I had 8 complete sets. I love the look of it, especially the mugs. Now, 11 months later, I have 4 out of 8 dinner plates left, 5 out of 8 salad plates left, and 7 out of 8 bowls left. 8 out of 8 mugs are still intact. One of my remaining dinner plates has a chip on the edge. Really. So disappointing.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable yet stylish We bought a 12 piece setting about 3 years ago and I'd have to say that this dishes really hold up. I have a house full of boys and they are hard on these dishes but they still look as good as they day I bought them. They can be dressed up for the big family dinners or just used for every day use. I would definitely recommend these dishes!
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality dishes with style I've had these dishes for a few years now and they've traveled with me over a few moves. They have held up well and look very stylish at dinner parties.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unable to Match for Replacements We bought a complete set of this dinnerware less than 2 years ago. We recently needed to replace one of the plates and when we brought the replacement home we found that the design had been tweaked slightly, with the new dinner plate being noticeably larger than the old one. We returned it and now are unable to properly complete our set. This is very frustrating. What is the point of having continuously produced patterns if they are not going to remain truly consistent?
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not durable! Chips easily! I purchased a set of 16 of these dishes just 3 months ago - I liked the more simple, clean look of them, but was disappointed how easily/quickly they chipped. I do use them every day, but generally I am pretty careful handling my dishes. I am going back to Denby!
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from beautiful, but chips easily we loved the neutral tone of these, but they are not durable at all. they chip very easily. I have only had for a couple of months and almost every plate is chipped. disappointed.
Date published: 2014-09-28
  • 2015-06-30T06:22CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_s605169, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_CrateAndBarrel
Back to Top