• Checkout
  • Cart 0
Home > Rugs > All Rugs > Orissa 8x10 Rug
Recommended For You
Libros 8'x10' Rug
Lynx Grey 12" sq. Rug Swatch
Chebbi 12" sq. Rug Swatch
Lynx Natural Rug 12" sq. Rug Swatch
Cauble Neutral 8'x10' Rug

Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date that you print this page.
9/22/2014 11:06:17 PM. For Customer Service, please call 800.967.6696

Orissa 8x10 Rug

Orissa 8x10 Rug
  • OrissaRug8x10F12
  • Axis2SeatSofaAnkaraChrXOC14
  • OrissaRugAV1F12
  • OrissaRugJH12
  • PetrieParsonsSqCoffTblAI13
  • Axis2SeatSofaAcadiaTblXOC14
  • OrissaRugLFI12
  • MetropoleLeatherChairAC14
Crate and Barrel Exclusive

SKU: 309591

$999.00

Delivery In stock and ready for delivery to ZIP code  

The Story

Hand-tufted by rural men in India's state of Uttar Pradesh, the art of the beautifully subtle Orissa rug evolves from their centuries-old matriarchal tradition of painting images in natural colors on the exterior walls of their homes for good luck. Today, this tradition welcomes warmth and comfort to our homes in an ikat-inspired pattern of their region, translated here in a soft, lustrous blend of New Zealand and Indian wools that lends a unique character to each rug. Crafted of pure wool, this rug will occasionally shed, especially during the first few months, which is easily managed with regular vacuuming.

Note: Some sizes of this rug are not available for
day-of-purchase pickup at our Stores.
A store associate can arrange a convenient pickup or delivery date.

Part of the Orissa Rug Collection

Details and Dimensions

Order Rug Swatch

Care

Return/Exchange Policy

 

Orissa 8x10 Rug is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings I purchased this rug a couple of months ago. We picked it up at the warehouse and though I requested that we open the rug up to look at it, I was told that they would not rewrap it for us after doing so. Because I knew that I could not put a 9 x 12 rug that had been unrolled in my car, I opted not to check it out. Upon unrolling it at home,I found that there was a large crease across the width of the rug. Hoping that it would relax with time, i waited a week to call and talk to the store. They were wonderful about helping to arrange a swap and arranged a delivery within the week. Unfortunately, the second rug was creased even more - apparently the rug is rolled too tightly at the factory causing it to crease where the end is rolled onto the remainder of the rug. I worked with the store to try to remove the crease. They went out of their way to look into solutions and made several suggestions. Through placing warm towels over the crease, it has improved somewhat, though it is still noticeable.Why did I not return it - I love the way the rug looks in the room. It is a wonderful warm neutral and I hold out hope that the problem will yet resolve. I will definitely shop at Crate and Barrel again - they have been so accommodating! I have received several follow up phone calls and the option to return the rug is still on the table. As stated in other reviews, it does shed a lot in the beginning, but that is slowing down as it is repeatedly vacuumed. All in all I love the rug, am very impressed with the service, but wish that the company had not rolled the rug so tightly.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Rug Beautiful rug! Looks great in both our dining and living rooms. Only complaint is that the rugs shed a lot. We have had them for a year and theystill continue to shed. Otherwise very happy with the rugs.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I've owned this rug for about a year now. Initially I loved it, but it continues to shed A LOT. In vacuuming it so frequently it has developed longer pieces of yarn that stick up above the surface. Also, as the lighter colors of the rug darken with use, the pattern is not nearly so prominent as the picture shows. In fact it never did have that much contrast even when it was new. I considered returning it when it was about 3 months old because I was dissatisfied. I wish I had done so.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality! This rug was purchased to accompany new living room furniture. I loved the soft neutral tones to nicely accent my new dark gray furniture. The color scheme turned out great! And I am impressed with the quality of the thick wool pile. Very soft under foot along with the thick rug pad. Love it!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Rug The rug was shipped to the site very quickly. The plush cut pile was high quality and exactly what was described/pictured. The pattern is gorgeous on the floor and matched the transitional look we were going for in the space. Although I think the coloring was a tad more yellow in real life as compared to the images online, it was a great purchase for my clients!
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almost a year at home and still sheds It sheds that much that it ruined my vacuum cleaner. Doesn't t matter if you like the design because you will hate it. It is a shame that Create and Barrel sell a product with these problem . Unfortunately I bought it and moved aboard, so I couldn't return it.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Rug I really like this rug. It's soft, and with two young children it hides excess dirt. I am happy about the size too. The one thing about it is that it needs to be vacuumed a lot. Especially at first. There are always fuzzies on it.Crate and Barrel is a great company to buy from. They have great customer service and are quick with delivery and great shipping!Would buy from them again in a SECOND.Thank you C & B
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this rug! I bought this rug a few months ago and I love it. The colors are neutral in tans and gray. I read other reviews that state that the rug sheds a lot. It did shed initially, but after vacuuming a few times, it stopped.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, neutral rug It really is a beautiful rug. It doesn't overpower the room, but rather compliments the floor and other furniture. I plan to get a new couch eventually and it will be easy to do with this rug
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many compliments! Exactly what I was looking for! A warm pattern that I wont get tired of. I love it and so does everyone who has seen it! The quality is great also. No complaints here!
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful But Sheds Terribly This is a beautiful rug. It manages to bring excitement to a room while remaining neutral. It's a great base for various upholstery choices and wood finishes (gray taupe, oak, concrete or tile floors. Sadly we're a year in to owning this rug and it still sheds terribly. We have vacuumed daily for the last year and STILL have an issue with shedding. And it's not a little shedding, it's massive amounts. Giant fuzzballs all over our floors, in nooks & crannies and a fine layer of rug fuzz covering our floor. I know less expensive rugs like this will shed some, but this is far above & beyond what is acceptable. So be warned!
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color combo I recently changed the color scheme of my living room and was looking for an area rug that would fit in with the changes I was making (linen white walls, super white trim, white Louis XVI chairs, flax sofa) and thought the Orissa rug would fit the bill. I first purchased the sample, which gave me a very good idea of the rug colors and design, and then I ordered the rug. I have to say it goes perfectly with my color scheme, I just love the muted creams and browns and the design. It is both modern and classic at the same time. The rug is very plush and my dogs appreciate that! Again, purchasing the sample gave me a great preview and was worth the $10 to feel confident in my choice. 
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sheds like crazy I bought this 9x12 rug in June and its now December and is still shedding like another reviewer experienced.  Its a beautiful neutral rug, but I can't handle the shedding.  All of the fibers that come off of this rug are all over the entire first floor.  They float into the air and wind up on every table in my living room and shelves in the kitchen.  I am going to try to exchange this for another rug.  I hoped it would stop, but it has not.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks nice but sheds like a beast! this rug is exactly what i was looking for in terms of design, but it sheds unbelievably! we got the rug in 9/12 and the shedding was awful....thought it would get better, but only marginally. it's now 3/13 and the thing still sheds a ton. you can't sit on this rug without being covered in wool fibers. it almost seems as if the yarn was made from super short-fiber wool trimmings that are just constantly coming apart. i'm very disappointed....i hadn't tried to return it bc i really love the design and colors and was hoping the shedding would subside, but if it hasn't after 6 mos, i doubt it's going to anytime soon. there won't be much of the rug left if this keeps up! maybe i just got a dud rug, as i don't see anyone else complaining of this. in any case, i hope C&B will stand by their product as i need to find another rug that my children can actually sit on without needing a full-body lint roller!
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Rug We looked for a long time for a rug to go with our living room and then tried this one. I love that you can take a rug home, try it, and then return it if you need to. This one was perfect for us. Doesn't show dirt or dog hair (big Plus!) and so very cozy on the feet. The salesperson was a great help in looking at pictures of our room and helping us choose the perfect rug!
Date published: 2013-03-05
Back to Top