• Checkout
  • Cart 0
Home>Dining & Entertaining>Dinnerware>Dinner Plates>Spool Dinner Plate

Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date that you print this page.
10/9/2015 9:41:53 AM. For Customer Service, please call 800.967.6696

Spool Dinner Plate

Spool Dinner Plate
  • SpoolDinnerPlateS12
  • Spool4pcPlacesetS12
  • DakotaDinningCllctnMI12
  • SpoolDinnerwareMI12
  • TolaDnrwrSplDnrwrGR15
Crate and Barrel Exclusive

SKU: 551603



In stock and ready to ship 

Pickup in Store

Select Store

The Story

This exclusive collaboration is our first with Brooklyn-based industrial designer Olivia Barry who attributes her inspiration as an artist to two influential women in her life. Mentored in the love of clay and glazes as a young girl by her grandmother, Barry has also had the rare opportunity since 1998 to work side by side as assistant to the legendary mid-century ceramist Eva Zeisel of whom she says, "Eva's sense of joy and humor is visible in her work, and I have been fortunate to be a part of that process." The Spool design's creamy high-fired English earthenware shapes feature distinctive carved rims inspired by the natural lyrical patterns drawn in sand dunes by the shifting desert winds. The play of light and shadow on the surface frames the culinary center of attention with a festive energy.

Part of the Spool Dinner Plate Collection

Details and Dimensions

Return/Exchange Policy


Our reviews are verified for authenticity. Learn more.
Spool Dinner Plate is rated 3.9375 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! My husband and I received this dinnerware set from our registry for our wedding. We had been searching for new plates and dishes for quite awhile. When we saw these, we knew they were the perfect combination of modern and provincial. We love them! A soft white with such a unique pattern. We always get compliments on them from guests.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart and functional! I bought the set and added salads about month later. They work for formal and informal occasions. They set an attractive table. Have received many compliments.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not boring white plates! These are a conversation starterThere are some natural imperfections due to how these are made but gorgeous and doing well so far in dishwasher- no issues as mentioned in other reviews
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Beautiful I bought these prior to hosting my first family Christmas dinner. The table was perfect! I had read all the reviews about cracks so I was a little nervous about running them through the dishwasher but I've been using them as my everyday dishes since Christmas with no trouble (washing on a shorter cycle).My only complaint is the microwave restrictions. I didn't realize how often I go for the microwave until I had to be aware of the settings!
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful plates - similar issues with cracks I was actually happy to read that I'm not the only person who has had issues with these dishes and bowls developing cracks. I registered for this set and wish I had thought to read the reviews before hand. I do love the color and design but was surprised to see so many cracks in the bowls. They are internal cracks you can tell developed from heat going from hot to cold. We don't own a microwave so perhaps its from the dishwasher? One reviewer mentioned they hand wash now which I will also be doing. Again beautiful plates but I'm not sure I would purchase this set again.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but cracks easily This dinnerware is beautiful - intricate and simple. We always get compliments on it and I love it as well!However, as many have said here, these crack easily. I didn't realize it was because of microwaving or the dishwasher - I'll have to be more careful about that in the future. So, if you love this dinnerware, buy it! You won't be disappointed by the look, just treat them with care (which is hard when these are your everyday dishes).
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice plate We bought 4 to replace the ones our son dropped. They are nice plates with a good size. However we wish they were microwave safe.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Dinnerware Set We got these for a wedding gift and love the dinnerware!! I would recommend this set to anyone!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dishes Got these as a wedding present and they are great!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from elegant look and feel I purchased this for my granddaughters wedding a month ago and was very happy with her selection on her registry. There were many oohs and aahs ! Was so glad I got it for her.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from spool dinnerware We've had these dinnerware for about two years and used them on a daily basis. We love the design--elegant yet casual, and look great with a variety of dishes. However, the bowls look aged with cracks in the glaze. We never washed them in dishwasher or used them in microwave, so I think the cracks were caused by serving hot soup.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful dishes - a couple issues My husband and I received these dishes through our wedding registry. After spotting them in the store, I knew these dishes were perfect for us. Unfortunately, we discovered after using them that they crack very easily. Apparently they cannot be exposed to high heat. We found the bowls to be the most susceptible to cracking. Living in an older apartment, we don't have control over the dishwasher temperature, so we are now forced to hand-wash our bowls. We had about 6 bowls that had cracked so badly we brought them back to the store to exchange them for new ones, which Crate & Barrel was really great about. After reading more recent reviews posted here, it looks like they may also be cracking due to the microwave heat. While we receive many compliments on our dishes, they are much more delicate than I anticipated. Also, the size of the dishes are larger than most, so make sure you check out the dimensions before purchasing. All in all, I would purchase these dishes again because of the beautiful color and spiral design, but I do wish Crate & Barrel would do a better job of specifying how you have to care for these dishes.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful plate design We put the Spool dining set on our wedding registry list and we are glad we did. We love the design and texture of the plates. The dinner plate is large and the off white color is very pretty and matches well with décor!
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Spool - not impressed I was given these dishes as a housewarming gift a year ago and feel they do not live up to everyday living needs. They chip very easily, are not suitable for a microwave unless you set the power level to low and I have noticed cracks and discolouring in the glaze.
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and versatile We got this set for our wedding in November and love it! We were very pleased with how sturdy they are, the size of them is perfect and the color is very versatile! They do not scratch.
Date published: 2014-04-07
  • 2015-10-09T06:29CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_s551603, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_CrateAndBarrel
Back to Top